Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Martinez focused solely on Wigan

Published 09/05/2013 | 11:06

Roberto Martinez is clear favourite to end up at Goodison Park
Roberto Martinez is clear favourite to end up at Goodison Park

Wigan boss Roberto Martinez has claimed it would be a waste of time for Everton to contact him over their impending managerial vacancy as his mind is totally focused on Wigan for the final week of the season.

  • Go To

With David Moyes set to be announced as Sir Alex Ferguson's successor later on Thursday, Martinez is clear favourite to end up at Goodison Park, but with an FA Cup Final looming on Saturday and Premier League survival to secure after that, Martinez has no time for distractions.

"At this moment in time it would be a waste of time," said Martinez. "The most important thing is to be as ready as we can for Saturday and then the two other finals we have in the league after that. It is the peak time for us. We want our fans to be proud of us and that is what we are fighting for."

He added: "What goes around on the outside doesn't affect us. We won't lose any focus."

Meanwhile, Martinez confirmed Paraguay defender Antolin Alcaraz was "50-50" to feature against Manchester City at the weekend as he battled to recover from a hamstring injury.

"He will definitely play before the end of the season, which is something we are very pleased with," said Martinez.

"But I don't know about Saturday. I wouldn't say yes, or no yet."

Definitely out are Maynor Figueroa, Jean Beausejour and Ronnie Stam, although there was some positive news about the Dutchman, who did not break his leg in Tuesday's home defeat to Swansea as initially feared.

"It is ankle ligament damage," said Martinez. "But he is still going to be out for a long time."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport