Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Martin O'Neill still waiting on FAI to make contact

Published 18/09/2013 | 05:00

John Delaney
John Delaney

MARTIN O'NEILL is still waiting on contact from the FAI, with the association's board yet to confirm a date for a meeting to discuss the process of replacing Giovanni Trapattoni, writes DANIEL McDONNELL.

  • Go To

The 61-year-old is the FAI's preferred candidate, but they have been unable to move things along due to a UEFA summit in Croatia, which chief executive John Delaney and president Paddy McCaul are attending.

It's expected that O'Neill will be contacted before any board meeting to ascertain his interest, but, as of yesterday, he had not received a call.

The other eight members of the FAI's 10-man board of management were at an emergency meeting in Dublin yesterday.

While they are on standby for a summit in relation to the senior manager's job, they are yet to receive notification of a date for the important discussion.

They anticipate developments by the weekend, but, with Delaney (scheduled to appear at a Q and A in Ballinasloe tomorrow, there is a limited window to get together before Friday.

The FAI are conscious that time is moving on in relation to next month's concluding World Cup qualifiers with Germany and Kazakhstan. Under FIFA regulations, they must notify clubs by tomorrow week that they may require their players' services.

Delaney has stated that it would be preferable to have a boss in place for the daunting trip to Cologne, but, if the process drags, the likelihood increases of an interim manager being appointed.

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport