Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Mancini sees a case for the defence

Published 16/03/2013 | 07:41

Vincent Kompany has been out for longer than expected
Vincent Kompany has been out for longer than expected

Manchester City boss Roberto Mancini regrets not signing an extra defender during the January transfer window.

Mancini wishes he had moved to bolster his rearguard after captain Vincent Kompany was injured in the FA Cup fourth-round win at Stoke on January 26. At the time City did not expect the 26-year-old's calf problem to require a lengthy lay-off but he has not played since and Mancini feels his absence has been a "big problem".

Mancini said: "Probably we made a mistake because when we knew (of) this problem we were four days to (the) close (of) the market. Probably then we should maybe have bought another defender."

He added: "Also, last year he had this problem, for one month he didn't play. This is a big problem. For me we did a mistake in this case.

"We had a chance because we had one good defender but we didn't think that Vinny would stay out for 40-45 days."

City have also been without two other defenders in Micah Richards and Maicon through injury but their only major transfer activity in January saw striker Mario Balotelli leave the club.

Kompany's prolonged absence has raised fears he may require surgery or miss the rest of the season but Mancini continues to play down the seriousness.

He said: "He starts to run and we hope that he will be ready for Newcastle.

"He started with us three or four days ago but he was tired because he worked a lot. His calf was tired but he didn't have any problems.

"But we don't want to take a risk at this moment because we have one game and after it is the international break. It is better we wait."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport