Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Madrid cruise through

Real Madrid 3 Schalke 04 1 (Real win 9-2 on agg)

Published 19/03/2014 | 02:30

Real Madrid's Alvaro Morata, right, is congratulated by teammate Gareth Bale after scoring his team's third goal
Real Madrid's Alvaro Morata, right, is congratulated by teammate Gareth Bale after scoring his team's third goal
Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo dribbles past Schalke's Tim Hoogland
Real Madrid's Jese goes down under a heavy tackle from Schalke's Sead Kolasinac. A scan later revealed the attacker has torn his anterior cruciate ligament, likely ruling him out for the rest of the season
Schalke's Tim Hoogland and Real Madrid's Casemiro battle for the ball

Real Madrid stormed into the Champions League quarter-finals with a club record 9-2 aggregate success after Cristiano Ronaldo struck twice at home against Schalke 04.

Real were virtually assured of a place in the last eight after thrashing the Bundesliga side 6-1 in Gelsenkirchen in the

first leg and coach Carlo Ancelotti rested a host of regulars for the return at the Bernabeu with an eye on Sunday's La Liga "Clasico" against Barcelona.

Gareth Bale set up Ronaldo for Real's 21st-minute opener and Schalke levelled 10 minutes later when a long-range Tim Hoogland effort deflected off Sergio Ramos and bounced past the stranded Iker Casillas.

Ronaldo took his tally in this edition of Europe's elite club competition to 13 goals with his second of the night in the 74th minute. Alvaro Morata added a third for Real a minute later after a Ronaldo effort came back off the crossbar.

It was Real's biggest aggregate Champions League win since beating Apoel Nicosia 8-2 in 2011-12.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport