Sport Soccer

Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Mackay absent from briefing

Published 20/12/2013 | 10:07

Malky Mackay is understood to have been told to resign or be sacked
Malky Mackay is understood to have been told to resign or be sacked

Cardiff manager Malky Mackay did not face the press on Friday morning following his ultimatum from owner Vincent Tan.

Press Association Sport understands Tan has told Mackay to resign or face being sacked.

The 41-year-old Scot had been due to face the media ahead of Saturday's Barclays Premier League fixture against Liverpool, but instead it was his assistant David Kerslake who spoke.

And Kerslake refused to discuss Mackay's situation.

He said: "I am here to talk about the Liverpool match, I came in this morning and was asked to do the press conference.

"Malky is in the training pavilion as we speak, we are just here to talk about the game."

When asked if Mackay was still in charge, Kerslake added: "No one has said any different to me, everything has been as normal. Players have got on with their jobs.

"Without being boring it has been a normal week."

When Kerslake came in for sterner questioning on Mackay's position a club spokesman stepped in to say: "Malky Mackay is unavailable to speak to the media, the assistant manager is here."

Faced with further queries on Mackay, Kerslake said: "I will answer any questions you have about the game of football tomorrow."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport