Friday 24 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Longford add to Athlone woes

Published 07/06/2014 | 02:30

Longford Town out-thought and outplayed Athlone Town to secure local bragging rights as well as a place in the third round.

Athlone Town 0 Longford Town 3

After an average enough game, the First Division side came to life in the final quarter, when they scored both their goals to add further misery to Athlone's season.

Adrift at the bottom of the Premier Division, Athlone were hoping for some form of respite.

The clearer chances in the first half fell to the visitors, who were unfortunate not to take the lead when first Pat Sullivan and later Gary Shaw fired powerful shots narrowly wide.

And when Longford did find the target, Athlone's 'keeper, Paul Skinner, was alert to the danger – diving low to his left to save Shaw's header.

The second half proved even scrappier than the first until the game opened up in the final 15 minutes when Peter Hynes came on. His creativity picked out Jamie Mulhall on the Longford right and the full-back charged forward before crossing delightfully for David O'Sullivan, who headed home from six yards.

Two minutes later, O'Sullivan won Longford a penalty after Alan Byrne was harshly judged to have fouled him. Mark Salmon scored from the spot and the win was secured.

Athlone Town – Skinner; Harney, Prendergast, Alan Byrne, Sean Byrne; Sweeney, Dillon, Hughes, Clancy, Marks (O'Brien 46); Gorman (S Brennan 84)

Longford Town – Hunt; Mulhall (Haverty 84), Sullivan, Flynn, Tyrell; Shannon, Salmon, Rice; Cowan (Nkololo 68), Shaw (Hynes 76), O'Sullivan

Referee – J McLoughlin (Roscommon)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport