Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Liverpool stars lend support to Alves after racist abuse

Published 28/04/2014 | 21:41

Liverpool star Luis Suarez and Philippe Coutinho are the latest to lend their support to Dani Alves following racist abuse at Villareal yesterday.

  • Go To

The Barcelona full-back has received widespread praise for his reaction when a Villareal fan threw bananas in his direction, with the Brazilian calmly picking one up and eating it before taking a corner kick.

Villareal has identified the culprit and issued a lifetime ban from the stadium and right around the world the player has received support from his peers.

Alves had already played a key part in sparking his team's 3-2 comeback when his wayward shot found the back of the net courtesy of a deflection off Villareal's Gabriel Armando in the 65th minute.

Shortly after the banana incident, Alves then delivered a cross that Mateo Musacchio headed into his own goal before Lionel Messi scored Barcelona's winner.

Coutinho and Suarez are the latest high-profile players to pose eating a banana to demonstrate their support, with team-mate Neymar also doing something similar earlier today.

Coutinho posted the picture on his Twitter account this evening

suaz1.jpg

Neymar and co rally around Dani Alves after memorable racism response  

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport