Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Students no match for 10-man St Patrick's Athletic

St Pat's Athletic 3 UCD 2

Published 16/08/2014 | 02:30

Keith Fahey, St Patrick's Athletic, beats UCD goalkeeper Conor O'Donnell to score his side's first goal
Keith Fahey, St Patrick's Athletic, beats UCD goalkeeper Conor O'Donnell to score his side's first goal
Keith Fahey, St Patrick's Athletic, in action against Tom O'Halloran, UCD.
Conan Byrne, St Patrick's Athletic, shoots to score his side's second goal
Ian Bermingham, left, St Patrick's Athletic, celebrates with team-mate Chris Forrester after scoring his side's third goal.

It took them 44 minutes to break UCD down BUT, despite having Greg Bolger sent off, St Pat's cruised to victory at Richmond Park last night.

  • Go To

Keith Fahey's goal on the stroke of half-time was greeted with a sigh of relief from the home crowd as Pat's finally made their dominance count.

Saints missed a host of first-half chances, with Christy Fagan in particular misfiring on several occasions.

Fahey opened the scoring when he caught Colm Crowe in possession on the edge of his own box before expertly clipping the ball over the onrushing Conor O'Donnell.

Bolger was given his marching orders for an apparent stamp on Crowe as Pat's were left to play with 10 men for the final half-hour. But goals from Conan Byrne and Ian Bermingham ensured that the champions didn't suffer back-to-back defeats.

Hugh Douglas and a brilliant Robbie Benson free-kick pulled back goals for UCD but Pat's were full value for their win.

St Pat's - Clarke; McCormack, Foran, Hoare, Bermingham (c); Bolger, Fahey, Brennan (Greene 80); Forrester (O'Brien 85), Fagan (Fitzgerald 87), Byrne.

UCD - O'Donnell, Douglas, Kavanagh, Ryan, Matthews (Mohamed 64); O'Halloran, Crowe (Molloy 64), Creevy, Benson (c), Mulhall (Cannon 73); Belhout.

REF - R Harvey (Dublin)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport