Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Stevens insists Bit O'Red poised for title fightback

Sligo Rovers 5, UCD 2

Published 17/06/2013 | 05:00

Sligo Rovers' fans waited over 400 minutes for a goal, then five came along at once.

The Bit O'Red re-ignited their title defence thanks to a resounding defeat of UCD at the Showgrounds and in the process hit the net for the first time in five league games.

It still leaves them four points behind leaders St Pat's, but assistant boss Gary Stevens says the team are nicely positioned. "Our destiny is in our own hands," Stevens said.

"We're in contention halfway through the season and we are in touch. Everything is to play for and I think we are in a nice position."

Goals from David Cawley, Aaron Greene, Kieran Djilali and Joseph Ndo helped Rovers come from behind to defeat the Students, with the fifth coming off the unlucky Liam Traynor.

David McMillan had given the visitors the lead inside the opening two minutes, and substitute Dean Clarke also found the net but the league's leakiest defence conceded five for the second game in a row.

UCD boss Martin Russell insists his side will continue to play positive football, even if it leaves them exposed at the back.

"We don't want to shut up shop. We want these lads to be the best they can be. It is hard to get the balance right while these players are in their development," Russell said.

"It is the youngest squad we have had since I have been here and you have got to be realistic and patient, and to try and encourage them."

Sligo Rovers – Rogers, Keane, Peers, Henderson, Davoren, Ndo, Cawley (Connolly 76), Conneely, Djilali, Martin (Gaynor 74), Greene (North 61).

UCD – O'Donnell, Matthews (Traynor 37), Douglas, O'Connor, Russell, Walsh, Burke (Corcoran 61), Creevy, Benson, O'Halloran (Clarke 61), McMillan.

Ref – P Sutton

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport