Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Slick Shakhytor Soligorsk side show Derry no mercy

Shakhytor Soligorsk 5 Derry City 1 (Shakhytor Soligorsk win 6-1 on aggregate)

Published 25/07/2014 | 02:30

After such a fantastic start, Derry City's Europa League run came to an abrupt end at a sun-drenched Shakhytor Soligorsk (Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE)
After such a fantastic start, Derry City's Europa League run came to an abrupt end at a sun-drenched Shakhytor Soligorsk (Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE)
Leading 2-1 heading into the second leg, Sligo dared to dream when when Danny North's 14th-minute goal put them 3-1 ahead on aggregate (David Maher / SPORTSFILE)

AFTER such a fantastic start, Derry City's Europa League run came to an abrupt end at a sun-drenched Shakhytor Soligorsk.

  • Go To

Derry took the lead on six minutes, as they became the first side to score against Soligorsk in six games. Rory Patterson's shot on the turn from the edge of the box was pushed away by goalkeeper Artur Kotenko and the alert Michael Duffy was on hand to fire home from close range.

The home side didn't panic and levelled things three minutes later after Artem Stargortodskky out-jumped Aaron Barry before nodding the ball down to an unmarked Siarhel Balanovich, who fired his shot past Gerard Doherty.

Soligorsk took the lead on 28 minutes through Alexandre Guruli and after that it was all one-way traffic, although Patterson missed a glorious chance on 60 minutes.

The tie was effectively over on 68 minutes when Dmitri Asipenka raced clear before sliding the ball past Doherty, who was beaten twice more before the finish as the home team underlined their superior technique.

S Soligorsk – Kotenko, Matveichyk, Yanushkevich, Kuzmianok, Kasheiski, Yurevich, Balanovich (Liavonchyk 84), Starorodskyy, Guruli (Rios 72), Asipenka (Galiuza 78), Yanush.

Derry City – Doherty, Ventre, McBride, Byrne, Barry; Duffy (Lowry 72), B McNamee, Molloy, Dooley (Timlin 61); P McEleney; Patterson (Boyle 78).

Ref – E Pilav (Bosnia and Herzegovina).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport