Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Shamrock Rovers-Bohemians clash called off because of state of the penalty spot at Dalymount

Published 18/08/2014 | 19:20

Referee Tomas Connolly called off the Airtricity Premier league clash between Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers due to damage on the surface beside the penalty spot at one of the ends. Picture:Arthur Carron
Referee Tomas Connolly called off the Airtricity Premier league clash between Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers due to damage on the surface beside the penalty spot at one of the ends. Picture:Arthur Carron
Referee Tomas Connolly called off the Airtricity Premier league clash between Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers due to damage on the surface beside the penalty spot at one of the ends. Picture:Arthur Carron
The damaged penalty spot which has led to the postponement

Tonight's eagerly anticipated SSE Airtricity Premier Divsion clash between Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians has been called off due to the state of a penalty spot at Dalymount Park.

Just 45 minutes before the scheduled kick-off, the news broke that the referee had deemed the pitch unplayable due to a large divot in one of the penalty areas.

A very large crowd was expected for the game which saw Pat Fenlon return to his old stomping ground only this time as the manager of their fiercest rivals Shamrock Rovers.

Shamrock Rovers are currently in fourth position in the top-flight of Irish football, 12 points behind Dundalk and are in a battle to secure European football for next season while Bohs are neither in the running for a European place and are safe from relegation.

A statement from the FAI read: "The Football Association of Ireland today (August 18) confirmed that following a pitch inspection, this evening’s SSE Airtricity League Premier Division game between Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers has been postponed.

"The decision was made by Tomás Connolly, the referee in charge of the fixture, after he inspected the pitch and deemed it unplayable due to repair work that has been carried out inappropriately.

"A new date for the fixture will be announced in due course."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport