Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Donnell's crucial Lilies strike

Shelbourne 1 Dundalk 3

Published 16/03/2013 | 05:00

Stephen O'Donnell was the match winner on a night when Stephen Kenny recorded his first win as Dundalk manager.

Trailing 1-0 at half-time, they bounced back impressively. John Dillon levelled from the spot on 55 minutes, O'Donnell added the crucial 86th-minute lead goal and John Mountney sealed the points with a third four minutes into injury-time.

Shels Graham Gartland was dismissed for a second bookable offence in the 84th minute.

Kenny's cubs started brightly, passing the ball with brisk efficiency and created two chances, Kurtis Byrne's effort forcing Niall Burdon to make a good save.

They also had a goal disallowed – when Pat Hoban fouled Burdon – and then got hit with a sucker punch when, on 43 minutes, Dean Kelly connected with Mark Leech's cross to head Shels into the lead. They looked like extending it when Hughes' goal-bound effort was heading goalwards, but Peter Cherrie pulled off a great save.

Then, Ian Ryan fouled Keith Ward. Dundalk had a penalty and a reprieve. Dillon scored and the game changed – leading to O'Donnell and Mountney's late goals.

Shelbourne – Burdon; Ryan, Gartland, Cornwall, Shortall (McCabe 84); Hanlon, Brennan (Hurley 67), Bayly; Leech, Kelly (Mooney 82), Hughes

Dundalk – Cherrie; Rossiter, Osborne, Sullivan, Boyle; O'Donnell, Dillon (Mountney 76), Towell, Ward (Meenan 68); Hoban (Faherty 65), Byrne

Ref – A Buttimer (Cork)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport