Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

REPORT

Wales WAL 1

Northern Ireland NIR 0

REPORT

Croatia CRO 0

Portugal POR 0

Ongoing

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


FAI to investigate Bray Wanderers' Sligo racism claim

John Fallon

Published 21/08/2014 | 02:30

Bray Wanderers' Ismahil Akinade is alleged to have suffered racial abuse from an opponent during the recent Premier Division game with Sligo Rovers. Photo: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE
Bray Wanderers' Ismahil Akinade is alleged to have suffered racial abuse from an opponent during the recent Premier Division game with Sligo Rovers. Photo: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE

SSE Airtricity League Director Fran Gavin has confirmed that they are investigating a complaint of racism lodged by Bray Wanderers.

It was submitted on behalf of their player Ismahil Akinade following an alleged exchange with an opponent during last week's Premier Division game with Sligo Rovers at the Carlisle Grounds.

Jason McGuinness remains the only player in the history of the league to be hit with the full five-match suspension when he was found guilty of racially abusing an opponent in 2009 while he was playing for Bohemians against Sligo Rovers.

"Any allegation of racism we take very, very seriously," asserted Gavin. "We don't want any of that in our behaviour. We need to have a thorough investigation and will make sure all parties cooperate.

"The matter has been reported to us but I don't want to go into it here because it is in situ."

Meanwhile, St Patrick's Athletic and Cork City are in talks with the FAI about entering reserve sides into next season's First Division. Shamrock Rovers are set to continue with their second string in the division.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport