Sport League of Ireland

Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Byrne extends hot streak to see off Patrick's CY

Published 07/06/2014 | 02:30

Conan Byrne celebrates with Conor McCormack after scoring St Patrick's Athletic's first goal against St Patrick's CY in the FAI Ford Cup second round tie. Photo: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE
Conan Byrne celebrates with Conor McCormack after scoring St Patrick's Athletic's first goal against St Patrick's CY in the FAI Ford Cup second round tie. Photo: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE
St Patrick's Athletic's Sean Hoare gets ahead of Gerard Griffin of St Patrick's CY as they battle for the ball. Photo: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE
Kenny Browne of St Patrick's Athletic beats St Patrick's CY player Mark Boland to a header. Photo: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE

Conan Byrne maintained his goalscoring spree to help St Patrick's Athletic advance at Richmond Park.

St Patrick's CY 0 St Patrick's Athletic 3

Byrne scored a hat-trick in Monday's 6-0 rout of Drogheda United to add to the goal he got in last week's 5-2 win over Derry City.

And he broke non-league St Patrick's CY's resolve just before half-time before a terrific strike from Keith Fahey and a third from Daryl Kavanagh eased Liam Buckley's side through.

But for Ian Bermingham heading off the line from St Patrick's CY's Mark Boland after they failed to clear Alan Murphy's corner inside two minutes, the Inchicore Saints, as expected, utterly dominated the game.

They bossed it from the start but it took 42 minutes to break the deadlock. James Chambers swept a ball wide right to McCormack who put Byrne in first time and he did the rest, casually shooting home with the outside of his right foot.

A stunning 25-yard strike from Fahey all but ended the contest seven minutes into the second half.

Four minutes later Fahey's sublime pass put Killian Brennan in to rattle a shot off the crossbar. Kavanagh added Pat's third goal on 87 minutes, firing a low drive past the excellent Darren McGarry and into the far corner.

St Patrick's CY – McGarry; Healy (Nolan 72), Weafer, Griffin (Ryan 81), L. Ridgeway; Doyle (Caffrey 66), Hannigan, A Murphy, Boland, Doolin; Dunne.

St Patrick's Athletic – Gilmartin; McCormack, Hoare (Oman 73), Browne, Bermingham; Fahey; Byrne, Chambers (Bolger 58), Brennan, Kavanagh; Fagan (Quigley h-t).

Referee – R Rogers (Dublin).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport