Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Bohemians seal the win thanks to cracker from Byrne

Bohemians 2 Drogheda United 1

Jamie Moore

Published 16/08/2014 | 02:30

Daniel Byrne, left, and Aidan Price, Bohemians, in action against Gavin Brennan, Drogheda United
Daniel Byrne, left, and Aidan Price, Bohemians, in action against Gavin Brennan, Drogheda United
Daniel Byrne, Bohemians, in action against Gary O'Neill, Drogheda United.
Steven Beattle, 22, Bohemians, and Gavin Brennan, Drogheda United, are both shown the red card by referee Anthony Buttimer.
Karl Moore, right, Bohemians, celebrates scoring his side's first goal with team-mate Jason Byrne, 10.

Bohemians didn't win any of their first ten league games at home this season - now they've now won two in a row thanks to crackers from Karl Moore and Jason Byrne.

Bohs had failed to win or score in any of their last three games, while Drogheda were looking to make it four games unbeaten.

The Gypsies took the lead in the 16th minute. Dinny Corcoran's excellent through-ball found Moore and he it hammered into the net.

They should have been out of sight but Corcoran first volleyed and then headed off the crossbar before Byrne's miss of the season contender - he somehow headed the ball into Michael Schlingermann's hands from on the goal-line.

Drogheda equalised midway through the second half, when Gavin Brennan collected Delany's punch on the edge of the box and volleyed home off the crossbar.

Bohs won it three minutes later, as Moore dispossessed McNally and found Byrne, who powerfully finished to the far corner.

Stephen Beattie and Gavin Brennan were sent off after an altercation on 75 minutes.

Bohemians - Delany; Beattie, D Byrne, Price, Pender; Devaney (Buckley 90), Lopes, Mulcahy, Moore; J Byrne (McEvoy 78), Corcoran (Evans 85).

Drogheda United - Schlingermann; Doyle, McNally, McGuigan, Grimes; McGlynn, Holahan, Brennan; Walsh (G Brady 85), C Brady (O'Brien 72), O'Neill.

ref - A Buttimer (Cork)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport