Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Bit of light relief could leave exposed players facing early bath

Published 02/09/2013 | 05:00

THERE have been some bizarre sendings off in the Airtricity League this year but it's possible that the best is yet to come. Here's the text of a directive sent out by the league office to clubs on Friday evening:

"We have been advised by the referee representatives that there have been a number of instances this season where players (including substitutes) have been found to be urinating in the open rather than availing of the toilet facilities," read the statement.

"Please note that referees have been instructed to issue a red card and/or removal from the technical area of any player, substitute or member of the technical staff found to be offending in this manner."

This raises many questions, with the lack of specifics a disappointment.

It's unclear where the supposed indiscretions have occurred, but in a year where referees have been accused of taking the p*ss, it appears that miscreant players have literally responded by upping the ante.

You've got to love the League of Ireland.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport