Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Laudrup: Chelsea enquired after me

Published 09/10/2013 | 19:11

Michael Laudrup was a target for Chelsea
Michael Laudrup was a target for Chelsea

Swansea manager Michael Laudrup has told a Portuguese newspaper Chelsea enquired about his availability prior to their appointment of Jose Mourinho.

  • Go To

The Dane was linked with a number of high-profile jobs after guiding the Welsh club to Capital One Cup glory and a ninth-placed finish in the Barclays Premier League.

A falling out between Swansea and Laudrup's agent Bayram Tutumlu over proposed transfer targets only added to the speculation, but the former Getafe and Real Mallorca boss ended up staying in south Wales.

But, quoted in A Bola, Laudrup claimed there was interest from Stamford Bridge before Mourinho signed on for a second spell.

He said: "Someone tried to know my availability through intermediaries, but there was nothing concrete.

"Also, I had given my word that I would be in Swansea."

Chelsea were unavailable for comment when contacted by Press Association Sport.

Arguably Laudrup's most important act as Swansea boss was completing the signing of Michu for just over £2million last summer.

The Spaniard has gone on to score 27 goals for the Swans and has been rewarded with his first call-up to the Spain squad for their World Cup qualifiers against Belarus and Georgia.

The 27-year-old placed on record his thanks for Laudrup, telling the club's official website: "It's because of Michael Laudrup that I am here.

"He is one of the best managers I have ever worked with in my life."

He also revealed Chelsea midfielder Juan Mata has been helping him adjust to life in the squad.

"I feel like I am annoying Juan Mata as I am always asking him about the training and the new experience," he said.

"Mata is helping me a lot, I know him very well. I can't describe the feeling when I went into the pitch wearing the shirt of the best team of the world.

"But it is very easy to play with all these players. The players who are in the squad are the best in the world and they're at the maximum level."

Swansea have also given a first professional deal to Pau Morer. The 18-year-old Spanish midfielder has been training with the club's Under-21s since July, but could not sign professionally until his 18th birthday.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport