Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Lambert clears the air with Holman

Published 10/04/2013 | 13:26

Brett Holman has been frustrated by a lack of first-team football
Brett Holman has been frustrated by a lack of first-team football

Aston Villa boss Paul Lambert has no problem with Brett Holman's frustration at losing his place in the team and has discussed the matter with the player.

  • Go To

Holman, who joined Villa last summer after leaving AZ Alkmaar, was a regular starter in the first part of the season, but the last time he was named in the first XI was on January 12 and has made just three substitute appearances since. Last month the 29-year-old Australia international was quoted as saying the situation was "disappointing" and "frustrating".

But the manager, quoted by the Birmingham Mail, said: "I've spoken to him. I had a good chat with him. He is an experienced player and has done really fine since he's been here. You don't want people to sit and be happy when they are not in the side. You want them to be unhappy."

He added: "He couldn't get in because Charles (N'Zogbia) was playing extremely well.

"He (Holman) wasn't fit for the other week (due to a hamstring injury). He is fit now. He has trained this week so he is back in the fray.

"I've got to pick a team that can win a game. That's the only reason."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport