Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Kenwright makes transfer assurances

Published 26/06/2013 | 21:32

Bill Kenwright, left, has confirmed Everton have enquired about two players
Bill Kenwright, left, has confirmed Everton have enquired about two players

Everton chairman Bill Kenwright believes manager Roberto Martinez will be making only small changes to his squad and there is no concern over a lack of activity in the transfer market so far.

  • Go To

While near-neighbours Liverpool have already tied up four deals, the Toffees have yet to make a move, although enquiries have gone in for two players. Kenwright feels the real business will start once Martinez - currently in the United States working as a television pundit for the Confederations Cup - returns this weekend ahead of the transfer window officially opening on Monday.

"There is no concern at all, not in the slightest," said the chairman, speaking after the club's first Annual General Meeting in five years.

"He has been away and you will always find July 1 onwards - when the current contracts end - is when it will start.

"Liverpool have had a sale (Andy Carroll to West Ham) in the transfer market, have got some money in and are spending some money.

"We have two enquiries going on for two players and if he (Martinez) has any concern I haven't felt one ounce of it. He is back at the weekend raring to go."

Kenwright said pivotal for Martinez is holding on to the players he has already and supplementing them with a couple of new arrivals, while seeking to promote from within the youth system.

"He hasn't met the squad yet. It is difficult for me talking for Roberto but he thinks the squad is fantastic," he added.

"He wants to hold on to it but he also wants to bring in two or three players in the positions where we need them. The first step is to get the players back and get to know them and bring in two or three.

"His absolute passion is youth and he wants to get those players who are there or thereabouts in the under-21s moving forward to play for the first team."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport