Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Kehl uses his head to hold off Zenit

Borussia Dortmund 1 Zenit St Petersburg 2 (Dortmund win 5-4 on agg)

Published 20/03/2014 | 02:30

Sebastian Kehl rises highest to score for Dortmund against FC Zenit at Signal Iduna Park
Sebastian Kehl rises highest to score for Dortmund against FC Zenit at Signal Iduna Park
Zenit St Petersburg's Jose Rondon heads home against Borussia Dortmund
Borussia Dortmund's Sokratis Papastathopoulos and Zenit St Petersburg's Jose Rondon battle for possession
Zenit forward Hulk shoots from distance to score the opening goal against Borussia Dortmund

Borussia Dortmund lost 2-1 to visitors Zenit St Petersburg but still advanced to reach the Champions League quarter-finals for the second successive season.

Dortmund, last year's runners-up who won 4-2 in Russia in the first leg, fell a goal behind when Hulk thundered in an unstoppable long-range effort in the 16th minute.

Dortmund captain Sebastian Kehl settled the hosts' nerves when he headed in the equaliser in the 38th minute. But the visitors retook the lead in the 72nd minute through substitute Jose Rondon's diving header.

Dortmund held on in a scrappy finale to become the second German

team into the last eight along with Bayern Munich.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport