Sport Soccer

Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jose: Torres needed a change

Published 04/09/2014 | 16:31

Jose Mourinho, right, believes Fernando Torres, needed to leave Stamford Bridge
Jose Mourinho, right, believes Fernando Torres, needed to leave Stamford Bridge

Jose Mourinho believes Fernando Torres needed a "change of scenery" from Chelsea, but the Portuguese would have preferred if the Spain striker had moved to Inter Milan rather than AC Milan.

  • Go To

Torres agreed a two-year loan move to Milan - and not Mourinho's former team Inter - after a challenging three-and-a-half-years at Stamford Bridge following his £50million arrival from Liverpool in January 2011.

"I'm an Interista and I would have preferred if he'd gone to Inter," Chelsea boss Mourinho told reporters at a UEFA coaching seminar in Nyon.

"However, I hope that he does equally well at Milan. What I can say about Fernando is that as a person and a professional, there is nothing to doubt about him.

"He's a fantastic boy and a great professional. However, he needed a change of scenery."

Torres is one of 26 players who have left Chelsea on loan this season.

Lewis Baker is not among them, having been promoted to the first-team squad.

The 19-year-old midfielder joins fellow academy graduates Nathan Ake and Andreas Christensen in Mourinho's first-team group.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport