Sport Soccer

Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jol: Team spirit will help us beat drop

Published 07/02/2013 | 16:17

Martin Jol doesn't want to leave it too late to secure top-flight status
Martin Jol doesn't want to leave it too late to secure top-flight status

Martin Jol has called for his Fulham side to show spirit to consolidate their position clear of the Barclays Premier League relegation zone.

The Cottagers play Norwich at Carrow Road on Saturday, with the loser potentially dragged into the relegation mix.

"If you leave it until the end of the season you've always got a problem; you don't want that," Jol said. "What I always say is get to 35, 36 points as soon as possible, before the last couple of months of the season."

He added: "We need four, five wins, and 40 points is the focus and target for us. I have been in this business longer than most managers and abroad you can say the bottom three at winter are likely to go down.

"But in England there are always surprises."

Fulham have three wins in eight games in 2013, are 13th, level on points with the 14th-placed Canaries, and, on 28 points, seven clear of the relegation zone.

But Jol is wary of Premier League precedent, with Birmingham relegated in the season when they won the Carling Cup and Blackpool going down after challenging for Europe earlier in the same 2010-11 campaign.

"With the amount of points we've got now, you go down," the Dutchman added.

"You need fighting spirit in every game. This is the highest level and we want to get out of trouble as soon as possible, like seven, eight, nine other teams.

"You need very good spirit to do that and if you look at the other teams, they've certainly got that. If you look at the likes of Reading, winning games, Southampton, looking good, and, of course, Norwich are dragged into it. Everyone is still aware of the fact they need to win as soon as possible."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport