Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Italy manager in race storm after comment about Balotelli's 'colour'

Published 22/06/2013 | 08:30

Mario Balotelli
Mario Balotelli

Italy boss Cesare Prandelli has apologised for saying Mario Balotelli's skin colour was the reason he was the only player allowed to leave the team hotel in Salvador.

  • Go To

The Azzurri Confederations Cup squad were kept inside yesterday to ensure they avoided the ongoing protests going on in the city and further afield.

AC Milan striker Balotelli was the exception, though, because he was doing charity work.

Prandelli was quoted as saying at a press conference: "He was the only one who had permission because his colour is a little different than ours."

But later in the press conference, he clarified his comments saying: "I'm sorry. It was a joke. Of course.

"Before I said something about the colour of our skin. I am glad we clarified that issue about why he was the only one allowed out.

"He was surrounded by all these people but he was working with a charity and doing something nice."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport