Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


Vicente del Bosque brings in eight new faces following World Cup flop

Published 29/08/2014 | 12:46

Vicente Del Bosque
Vicente Del Bosque

Spain coach Vicente del Bosque has rung the changes in his first squad list since their World Cup humiliation, bringing in five uncapped players among eight new faces.

Among those left out of the 23-man squad for the start of their Euro 2016 qualifying campaign are Barcelona defender Gerard Pique, Chelsea striker Fernando Torres and Manchester United playmaker Juan Mata.

Xavi and Xabi Alonso are also missing after announcing their international retirements following the World Cup, while Jose Reina, David Villa and long-term injury victim Javi Martinez make up those omitted.

In their place, Del Bosque has largely gone for youth, calling up uncapped quintet Dani Carvajal, Raul Garcia, Kiko Casilla, Mikel San Jose and Paco Alcacer, while recalling Isco, Marc Bartra and Ander Iturraspe.

Spain are looking to rebuild following their miserable summer showing in Brazil, where they became the first reigning champions ever to be dumped out of the World Cup after losing their opening two matches.

In their Group B opener Del Bosque's side were thrashed 5-1 by Holland - the first time Spain had conceded five goals in an international since 1963 and the biggest losing margin by any defending champion.

They then lost 2-0 to Chile to exit the competition after just six days before finishing up with a 3-0 win over Australia.

The two-time reigning European champions face France in a friendly next Thursday before starting their Euro 2016 qualifying campaign against Macedonia on September 8.


Spain squad: Casillas (Real Madrid), De Gea (Manchester United), Casilla (Espanyol); Ramos (Real Madrid), Carvajal (Real Madrid), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), Albiol (Napoli), Bartra (Barcelona), Alba (Barcelona), Azpilicueta (Chelsea); Busquets (Barcelona), Cazorla (Arsenal), Fabregas (Chelsea), Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), Pedro (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), Silva (Manchester City), Iniesta (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Garcia (Atletico Madrid); Costa (Chelsea), Alcacer (Valencia).

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport