Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Coming soon: John The Baptist

Behind the game of thrones with John Delaney

Published 04/09/2014 | 15:34

The Ireland football team play their first game of the Euro 2016 qualifiers this Sunday against Georgia.

  • Go To

John Delaney , the charismatic Chief Executive of the Football Association of Ireland, has spent the last six months collaborating with Sunday Independent  writer Barry Egan  on a behind-the-scenes documentary for independent.ie.

John talks unguardedly for the first time ever about his ten years in charge of the FAI, the mess he inherited, the stories behind bringing in Giovanni Trapattoni, then Roy Keane and Martin O’Neill as well as meeting the Queen, and Michael Noonan.

Barry Egan also gets exclusive interviews with Eamon Dunphy,  Martin O’Neill and Denis O’Brien, who says: “John Delaney could run anything. John Delaney could run  UEFA easily. He could run FIFA as far as I’m concerned — certainly better than [FIFA President] Sepp Blatter , and more honestly.”

You can watch it only on independent.ie from this Sunday.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport