Sunday 24 September 2017

How the Draw will Work

POT 1 will contain the top seeds:

Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay, Spain, Germany, Belgium and Switzerland.

POT 2 will have the unseeded South American countries and the qualifiers from Africa: Algeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ivory Coast, Ecuador, Ghana and Nigeria.

POT 3 will be made up by the teams from North and Central America plus Asia: Australia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, USA.

POT 4 will have the nine unseeded European teams: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Holland, Portugal, Russia.

* At the start of the draw, one European team from Pot 4 will be selected at random and added to Pot 2 to make it eight countries in each pot. The four seeded South American teams will be put into a temporary pot (Pot X) and the European team from Pot 2 will be drawn in the same group as one of them.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport