Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Hibbert hoping for bigger role

Published 02/07/2014 | 12:22

Tony Hibbert is hoping to play more games next season after agreeing terms on a new deal
Tony Hibbert is hoping to play more games next season after agreeing terms on a new deal

Everton defender Tony Hibbert is optimistic about his potential playing time next season after signing a new contract with the club.

The 33-year-old Toffees youth academy product has made only 10 appearances in all competitions over the past two campaigns, with injuries and the form of fellow right-back Seamus Coleman both contributing to his time out of the side.

Hibbert - confirmed on Tuesday to have put pen to paper on a new two-year deal - says he is now "fit and ready to go", though.

And he hopes the greater number of fixtures Everton have next term due to their Europa League involvement will work in his favour in terms of getting first-team action.

"I picked up a few injuries (last season) but I'm fit and I'm ready to go," Hibbert told evertontv.

"Because of the amount of games that we are playing and the way the manager (Roberto Martinez) likes to keep people fresh, he might introduce players who haven't played the week before.

"The games will come thick and fast, so it is very important to have a good, strong squad."

Regarding Everton's official player of the season Coleman, Hibbert added: "Seamus has been unbelievable and deserves his place for the way he is playing.

"It's one of them where we need players in the squad that will keep fighting for each other and pushing each other for places."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport