Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Gunners still sweating over Ozil

Published 13/03/2014 | 12:22

Mesut Ozil £42m -There have been flashes of his ghostly genius, particularly early in his Arsenal career, but Ozil has not played with the authority or impact that was expected of such an expensive player. At the start he was described as Arsenal’s Eric Cantona; now he looks more like their Dimitar Berbatov. A weak missed penalty against Bayern Munich – a penalty he earned with a staggering piece of skill - summed up a frustrating season.
Mesut Ozil £42m -There have been flashes of his ghostly genius, particularly early in his Arsenal career, but Ozil has not played with the authority or impact that was expected of such an expensive player. At the start he was described as Arsenal’s Eric Cantona; now he looks more like their Dimitar Berbatov. A weak missed penalty against Bayern Munich – a penalty he earned with a staggering piece of skill - summed up a frustrating season.

Arsenal are still assessing the severity of record signing Mesut Ozil's hamstring injury.

  • Go To

The Germany international - a £42million buy from Real Madrid last summer - suffered the problem during Tuesday's 1-1 last-16 draw at Bayern Munich which saw Arsenal exit the Champions League.

Speaking ahead of Sunday's north London derby with Tottenham, manager Arsene Wenger told arsenal.com: "He's out. I don't know for how long but it is a hamstring injury. There are scans going on."

In a further blow, given Jack Wilshere's absence with a broken foot, midfielder Aaron Ramsey's return from a thigh injury has been delayed.

Wenger added: "We have had to defer his comeback to full training so he is not available. He is having difficulties in the final stages of his rehab. It looks to be short term."

Left-backs Kieran Gibbs and Nacho Monreal have a "good chance" of being available. Gibbs has a fitness test on Friday.

Swedish midfielder Kim Kallstrom could be in contention for his debut after signing despite a back injury, while Yaya Sanogo is available.

Wenger said: "Kallstrom joins the normal training group today and Sanogo too.

"I will have to decide if Kallstrom is okay to be in the squad on Sunday. I will see how he looks. It is not impossible."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport