Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Giles: United need to get rid of Giggs and the Class of 92

Published 24/04/2014 | 20:18

Ryan Giggs has been named as Manchester United's interim manager following David Moyes's sacking
Ryan Giggs has been named as Manchester United's interim manager following David Moyes's sacking

Former Manchester United player John Giles says the incoming Manchester United manager needs to get rid of the famed class of 92 and start with a clean slate.

  • Go To

Ryan Giggs has been placed in temporary charge of the club while the board look to replace David Moyes after a disappointing season at Old Trafford and speculation has been mounting that more members of that famous crop of players could become more heavily involved.

Giggs has already called on the services of Paul Scholes in a coaching capacity, while Nicky Butt will take his place in the dugout this weekend when Norwich visit Old Trafford as Giggs’ assistant manager.

The decision to retain Phil Neville as first-team coach means that four members of successful youth side will be involved for the title run-in and it has been suggested that it could lead to more permanent positions.

However former Irish international John Giles believes that in order for the club to move on and put the Ferguson legacy to bed, the new manager must remove the stalwarts from the club.

“They need to get rid of the heart of something that is in the past,” he told Newstalk’s Off The Ball programme tonight.

“Football is a cruel game, but you can’t live in the past.”

“It would be best for the club.

"He (the new manager) should say 'sorry lads, but we're starting from scratch'."

Giles also added that Ferguson “should disappear for 12 months”.

While it would be a contentious issue to get rid of some of the most successful players to ever play for the Red Devils, Giles believes it isn’t as unlikely as it might appear.

“The Glazers know a bit about sport. It could happen.”

Giles also added that the decision to remove Moyes from the hotseat was the “right decision” considering the precarious position the club found itself in.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport