Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Gerrard enjoys 'dark horses' tag

Published 13/02/2014 | 15:07

Liverpool's Steven Gerrard likes the "dark horses" tag
Liverpool's Steven Gerrard likes the "dark horses" tag

Steven Gerrard is enjoying Liverpool's position as "dark horses" for the Premier League title.

The Reds continued their unbeaten start to 2014 on Wednesday, following up the incredible 5-1 defeat of Arsenal with a last-gasp victory at Fulham.

Having twice come from behind at Craven Cottage, Gerrard's stoppage-time penalty saw the Merseysiders through 3-2 as victors, moving them to within just four points of leaders Chelsea.

Jose Mourinho described the Blues as a "little horse" not yet ready to win the title, with Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers joking his side "may be the chihuahuas that run in between the horse's legs".

There is, though, a growing belief that the Reds could mount a serious late challenge, with Gerrard returning to the equine theme when summing up their chances.

"Against Arsenal, we showed how much class we've got," the Reds skipper told the club's official website, www.liverpoolfc.com.

"We showed we've got talent all over the pitch; at home, with the atmosphere behind us, you don't have to motivate yourself - you just go out and perform, and more often than not you play well.

"But coming away on a Wednesday night, windy, on a difficult pitch, away to Fulham is a big test for the team.

"We've passed it but we still have to learn from our mistakes and defend better on the road if we're to finish in the top four places.

"We're in the mix. It's still early days, there's a lot of football to be played and we're not going to get carried away. But we are in good form. We feel as if we're dark horses.

"We just carry on playing and trying to win as many games as we can. We have the advantage, in a funny way, of no European football, because we have just got the league and FA Cup to focus on."

Rodgers' welcomes former side Swansea to Anfield in Liverpool's next league match, although before that comes a return to London for another clash with Arsenal, this time in the FA Cup.

The Gunners will be looking for revenge just eight days after their mauling at Anfield, with Gerrard all too aware of the threat posed by them in the fifth-round tie.

"Top sides, when they get beat 5-1, they are hurt," he said. "They have just battled to a 0-0 draw against Manchester United so they have showed they have defended quite well in the game.

"We're expecting a tight game at the Emirates and I think the 5-1 game will have no bearing on this game coming. We're expecting a really tough game.

"It's a break from the league and we'll go there and give it everything we've got because we want a good cup run."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport