Sport Soccer

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Gerrard awarded testimonial

Published 23/04/2013 | 15:16

Steven Gerrard has been awarded a testimonial match in August
Steven Gerrard has been awarded a testimonial match in August

Liverpool have announced Steven Gerrard will have a testimonial match against Olympiacos in August.

  • Go To

The Reds will take on the Greek champions on August 3 in their only pre-season match to be played at Anfield.

Proceeds from the event will go to the Steven Gerrard Foundation, while Olympiacos will donate their appearance fee to local charities in Greece.

Gerrard scored one of his most famous goals against Olympiacos in 2004, helping Liverpool come from behind to win 3-1 and keep them in the Champions League. They went on to win the competition that season.

Gerrard, who made his Liverpool debut almost 15 years ago, told the club's website: "I am delighted to be honoured by Liverpool with a testimonial match and particularly thrilled that Olympiacos have accepted my invitation to play the fixture. Last time we met proved to be such a memorable game both for me personally and Liverpool Football Club.

"I am also especially grateful that Olympiacos have truly embraced the aim of this match and chosen to donate their fee to charity. I am looking forward to what I know will be a fantastic game and a wonderful occasion."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport