Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fulham sign Heitinga

Published 31/01/2014 | 22:57

John Heitinga has joined Fulham
John Heitinga has joined Fulham

Fulham have completed the signing of Everton defender John Heitinga on a free transfer.

  • Go To

The 30-year-old Dutchman spent four-and-a-half years at Goodison Park, amassing 140 first-team appearances and scoring five goals.

However, Heitinga's playing time has been restricted to just five appearances this term and has been allowed by Everton manager Roberto Martinez to join Fulham on a permanent deal.

"I'm really pleased to get the move completed and I'm looking forward to playing my first game," Heitinga told the club's official website, www.fulhamfc.com.

"I think it's a good move for myself and I'm looking forward to meeting my team-mates.

"I've spoken already with Rene Meulensteen and I think it's the right club for me.

"This is a club with a great history and I always enjoyed playing at Craven Cottage, I really like it as a stadium. It's not one of the biggest but it's got something special."

Heitinga moves to west London initially until the end of the season and will hope to impress enough to earn a call-up to the Holland squad for the World Cup.

The defender came through Ajax's fabled academy before moving to Atletico Madrid in Spain and on to the Premier League with Everton.

"Of course I know Maarten Stekelenburg very well - we were players at Ajax together and we played many years in the national team together," Heitinga said of the Fulham goalkeeper.

"I chose Fulham because the feeling was good and what was also important was the conversation between me and Rene.

"He knows exactly what he wants and I know exactly what I want. The main thing is to keep Fulham in the league and hopefully the boys will start with a win against Southampton."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport