Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Five areas in which it's all gone wrong for David Moyes

MARK OGDEN

Published 16/03/2014 | 18:09

Things are going from bad to worse for Manchester United boss David Moyes.
Things are going from bad to worse for Manchester United boss David Moyes.

Mark Ogden analyses the fallout from Old Trafford after another chastening defeat for the Premier League champions

NO RETURN ON SIGNINGS:

Moyes has invested £65m on Marouane Fellaini and Juan Mata as United manager, but he has been unable to get the best from either of them.

Fellaini is too slow and one-dimensional, while Mata’s seven games have generated nothing. The Spaniard was fortunate to start this game ahead of Danny Welbeck.

PREDICTABLE TACTICS:

Under Moyes, United have become incredibly predictable.

Holding midfielders stay behind then ball and it is usually then played to the flanks for the full-backs to cross into the penalty area.

Despite the talents of Mata, Wayne Rooney and Adnan Januzaj, hardly anything goes through the middle of the pitch.

TOUCHLINE BODY LANGUAGE:

Moyes rarely looks calm and composed on the touchline and his agitated presence offers little but an expression of panic to his players.

Brendan Rodgers, even before Liverpool took the lead, was all about encouragement and trust and his team performed with the belief that had been infused by their manager.

WRONG TO OVERLOOK GIGGS:

United lack composure on the ball, which makes it surprising that Ryan Giggs has now mustered just 81 minutes on the pitch in the last ten weeks.

Giggs may be 40, but his performances early this season showed little sign of ageing legs.

Moyes needs to trust the Welshman just as Sir Alex Ferguson did, especially in games like this when possession is crucial.

CORNERS:

Many fans have become bewildered by Moyes’s tactic of refusing to leave a forward up-front when defending corners.

When the ball is cleared, two spare defenders then have time to play it back into danger.

Conversely, Liverpool deployed Daniel Sturridge to stand on the halfway line when defending United corners and he therefore kept two defenders busy.

Telegraph.co.uk

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport