Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fernandinho eyes World Cup chance

Published 03/02/2014 | 08:32

Fernandinho is targeting a World Cup place
Fernandinho is targeting a World Cup place

Manchester City's Brazilian midfielder Fernandinho sees his side's heavyweight clash with Chelsea as the ideal opportunity to catch national boss Luiz Felipe Scolari's eye.

Fernandinho, signed for £30million from Shakhtar Donetsk last summer, has been one of the key figures in City's push for four trophies.

But as well as chasing silverware, Fernandinho also wants to win a place in the Brazil squad for this summer's World Cup on home soil.

The 28-year-old, who has won just five caps, hoped his move to England would yield greater recognition and he certainly expects Scolari to be watching the high-profile Barclays Premier League tussle with Chelsea.

The Londoners have four Brazilians in their squad in David Luiz, Willian, Oscar and Ramires.

Fernandinho said: "Getting to the World Cup is a big dream for me.

"It's a big game. You could say it's like a derby because everyone is talking about it.

"I am sure the Brazilian manager will be watching because there are a lot of players he needs to see.

"If I have a good performance, there is no doubt it will open the door for me. That's what I am hoping."

There is plenty riding on the game in title terms with City looking to reclaim top spot and open up a six-point advantage over Chelsea.

Defeat would see Chelsea draw level on 53 points, two behind Arsenal.

Fernandinho, who was the subject of previous interest from Chelsea, said: "If we could beat them it would be a very important result - but both teams will still have a lot of difficult games left.

"The Premier League is full of surprise results - but I hope we won't have any more."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport