Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fernandes hits out after relegation

Published 30/04/2013 | 10:01

Tony Fernandes, pictured, confirmed that Harry Redknapp would stay on as QPR manager
Tony Fernandes, pictured, confirmed that Harry Redknapp would stay on as QPR manager

Tony Fernandes launched a withering attack on the players who have taken his money but have failed to keep QPR in the Barclays Premier League.

QPR's relegation was confirmed on Sunday when they drew 0-0 with Reading, who will join them in the Championship next season. Despite ploughing millions in to fund the signings of Park Ji-sung, Jose Bosingwa and Chris Samba, neither Harry Redknapp nor Mark Hughes could get enough out of a squad that was expected to be challenging for a top-half position.

Owner Fernandes, who confirmed that Redknapp would stay on as manager, told the club's official website: "It's heartbreaking for me when we lose. I haven't said it throughout the season because it wasn't right to be said, but it hurt me when I saw some of the players who didn't feel the way I felt."

He added: "And in fact, in their case, it should be worse because this is their job, it's their life. It wasn't a good feeling.

"I am someone who has dealt with success and dealt with disappointment. But there is nothing I have gone through that is as disappointing as losing a football game."

Bosingwa received the brunt of criticism from fans for smiling and laughing following the final whistle at the Madejski Stadium despite his team's relegation.

"It was probably the low point for me when I saw the reaction of some of the players," Fernandes continued. "It has shocked me because it is something that is alien to me.

"Whatever I have done as a job, for whoever has hired me, I put in 150 per-cent. It's in my character. If I am taking someone else's money, then I am going to work hard for that person.

"It's an alien concept to me that someone takes someone's salary, doesn't put 100 per cent in, thinks: 'Oh, we lost. No big deal. What club are we going to tonight?' That is an alien concept to me.

"It wasn't right to say anything during the season, but I noticed everything and I am a little bit wiser for it now."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport