Sport Soccer

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Ferguson: RVP closing in on the abilities of Messi and Ronaldo

Published 13/02/2013 | 12:51

ALEX Ferguson believes Robin van Persie is approaching a level of football greatness which is only surpassed in the modern game by Cristiano Ronal and Lionel Messi, but the gap is closing.

  • Go To

Ahead of tonight’s mouthwatering tie at the Bernabeu, which has been billed as a battle between Robin and Ronaldo, Ferguson believes that Real are going to have as much trouble stopping Van Persie as they are going to have dealing with the Portuguese wizard.

 

"Robin is approaching the level of Ronaldo and Messi," said Ferguson. "His arrival at our place has been nothing but sensational.

 

"He has been a breath of fresh air to the young players and also a good coach to them.

 

"Twenty-three goals tells you everything."

 

Tonight’s game represents the first time Ferguson will face Ronaldo, a player he helped to mould, and he is amazed at the progression the player has made since leaving Old Trafford.

 

“Cristiano was such a young man when he left me and you can see how he has flourished in Madrid,” said Ferguson.

 

“I never thought he would get the number of goals he has scored.

 

“He and Lionel Messi are the best players in the world and Cristiano’s goal record is phenomenal."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport