Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fergie exit an internet sensation

Published 08/05/2013 | 18:13

Sir Alex Ferguson's announcement was a social media sensation
Sir Alex Ferguson's announcement was a social media sensation

In social media terms, the announcement of Sir Alex Ferguson's retirement knocked the news of Margaret Thatcher's death for six.

Ferguson may be one of the old school but his retirement announcement was very much a 21st century event.

Manchester United broke the news on Twitter, and even their official announcement had the strapline #thankyousiralex at the top.

The club also arranged for fans to be able to write their own eulogies to Ferguson via that other social media giant Facebook, and the best of the messages will be put into a special book for the retiring manager.

Within an hour of the news breaking, there had been 1.4 million mentions of it on Twitter - by comparison it took four hours for the death of former Prime Minister Baroness Thatcher to top one million.

Within eight minutes of the announcement, it was the number one global trend on Twitter, with 140,000 uses of the #thankyousiralex hashtag inside of three hours.

Lewis Wiltshire, head of sport at Twitter UK, said clubs are increasingly looking to social media to make announcements.

He said: "Throughout the Premier League one of the developments we have seen is clubs breaking news on Twitter - QPR's sacking of Mark Hughes and hiring of Harry Redknapp were both announced on Twitter, as was Chelsea's hiring of Rafa Benitez.

"Clubs across the board are realising it is the best way to reach all of their fans at the same time, democratising the media so that their fans in Indonesia are getting the news at the same time as those in England."

The social media impact of Ferguson's retirement announcement fell short of Barack Obama's tweet after he was re-elected president of the USA, which has since been retweeted 850,000 times. The tweet United sent out on Wednesday morning received more than 30,000 retweets.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport