Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fans make fly-past protest threat

Published 27/03/2014 | 14:32

Controversy continues over the David Moyes 'The Chosen One' banner at Old Trafford .
Controversy continues over the David Moyes 'The Chosen One' banner at Old Trafford .

A group of Manchester United fans is threatening to hire a light aircraft to tow a banner over Old Trafford with the message calling for manager David Moyes to go, it has been claimed.

The action is in response to the contentious 'Chosen One' banner that is on display at Old Trafford despite calls for it to be removed in the wake of United's increasingly troubled season under Moyes.

A United fans' blog, therepublikofmancunia.com, claimed supporters are planning to send their own message during the game against Aston Villa on Saturday.

The blog states: "A group of United fans have raised £840 in a day to fund a plane to fly over Old Trafford with a message reading 'Wrong One - Moyes Out'.

"The message is a response to the Stretford End Flags banner which reads 'The Chosen One'."

United would not be drawn on the threat, but there is no doubt the 'Chosen One' banner is causing controversy.

After United stumbled to a 3-0 defeat at home to Manchester City, there were angry protests directed against Moyes and his predecessor Sir Alex Ferguson.

Some fans had earlier called for the group that made the banner - Stretford End Flags (SEF) - to remove it following the 3-0 defeat to Liverpool almost two weeks ago.

Stewards also gathered around the banner at full-time after the City defeat to prevent it from being seized.

Meanwhile, Darren Fletcher has acknowledged United's players need to do better.

He told Sky Sports News: "We're hurting and we know the fans are hurting.

"We've lost matches and the Stretford End has still been singing our names as we go off the pitch. That's humbling.

"All the players speak about it in the dressing room, that the fans are suffering and we need to do better for them."

The Scottish international midfielder does not believe the Champions League quarter-final against defending champions Bayern Munich is a foregone conclusion.

Bayern have already wrapped up their domestic title, while United languish in seventh place in the Barclays Premier League, 18 points off the pace.

However, Fletcher said: "We don't expect an easy game but we are still in it and we've played some good stuff in the Champions League. Don't write us off."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport