Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fans group welcome price rise

Published 20/02/2014 | 23:52

Hull fans are opposed to a name change
Hull fans are opposed to a name change

Hull fans group City Till We Die has welcomed reports that the club may increase season ticket prices as a sign of renewed commitment from owner Assem Allam.

  • Go To

Price hikes are rarely seen as good news among supporters, but CTWD believe it could be a sign that the Egyptian will not go through with his previous promise to walk away if the Football Association reject his application to rename the team Hull Tigers.

Allam insists a rebrand would attract fresh commercial deals to the club and is said to see a hefty rise in season tickets as a way to mitigate a lack of new investment should the FA rule against him.

City Till We Die, an umbrella group set up in opposition to the Tigers moniker, have lobbied the governing body to dismiss Allam's plans but remain broadly supportive of his ownership.

A statement from the organisation read: "We are pleased that the Allam family are planning for their ongoing stewardship of Hull City AFC in the event that the FA rejects their name change application. We remain open to helping find viable solutions to make the club self-sufficient.

"The decision on the name change proposal is now in the hands of the FA. We assume that the club will have made details clear to the FA of any thus far undisclosed link between potential sponsorship deals and a change of playing name in their submission.

"CTWD has faith in the FA's ongoing consultation and has undertaken not to comment on the investigation. We respect the FA process and await their decision.

"As throughout this campaign, we do not believe that protests against our owner have any place during the match."

The FA is expected to make a ruling on the case in April.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport