Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


FA studies Fellaini 'spit'

Published 28/03/2014 | 12:32

Youtube footage could land Marouane Fellaini in hot water with the FA
Youtube footage could land Marouane Fellaini in hot water with the FA

The Football Association has confirmed it will look into claims that Marouane Fellaini spat at Pablo Zabaleta during the Manchester derby on Tuesday.

Footage on YouTube has emerged appearing to show Manchester United midfielder Fellaini spitting near to Zabaleta's head while the City defender lay on the floor following a clash between the pair.

The FA is aware of the clip and is now considering whether it should charge Fellaini for misconduct.

It is understood referee Michael Oliver did not mention the alleged spit in his match report, but the FA can retrospectively punish Fellaini if it thinks he is guilty.

The FA will request clearer footage of the incident from broadcasters Sky before making a decision on the matter early next week.

The FA banned Hull's George Boyd for three matches after he spat at Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart earlier this month.

Oliver booked Fellaini moments before the alleged spit towards Zabaleta for an elbow on the Argentinian full-back.

After the 3-0 win, Zabaleta claimed Fellaini was lucky to stay on the pitch.

"I was elbowed by Fellaini. It was a red card," he said

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport