Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


FA expecting goal-line go-ahead

Published 09/04/2013 | 10:01

Goal-line technology will be used at the Confederations Cup in Brazil
Goal-line technology will be used at the Confederations Cup in Brazil

Football Association general secretary Alex Horne expects Barclays Premier League clubs to formally approve goal-line technology for next season at a meeting this week.

FIFA last week appointed German company GoalControl to provide goal-line technology (GLT) at the Confederations Cup in Brazil this summer and, if successful, it will also be used at next year's World Cup finals.

Now, Horne believes Premier League clubs will commit to GLT for the 2013/14 campaign when they meet on Thursday. "I always thought it was an ideal piece of technology to allow into the game," said Horne .

"The [Premier League] club meeting is on Thursday so I'm expecting it to go through at that meeting."

Plans have been in place since last year when the Premier League met with the two currently-licensed GLT companies, Hawk-Eye and GoalRef, to install the system at top-flight matches.

The FA has been at the forefront of the drive to introduce GLT and is looking to install it at Wembley.

Last summer Wembley was used to experiment with the Hawk-Eye system during England's friendly with Belgium, although the results were not made public.

Horne told BBC Sport: "There are occasions [when GLT is needed] and we've seen them here at Wembley, we've seen them in World Cups, we've seen them 11 or 12 times in the Premier League this season alone.

"So technology that says 'yes, the ball has crossed the line' and lets the referee know makes an awful lot of sense to me."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport