Soccer

Tuesday 29 July 2014

FA charge Nicolas Anelka over “quenelle” gesture

Published 21/01/2014|09:15

  • Share
Nicolas Anelka's gesture after his goal against West Ham has caused controversy
Nicolas Anelka's gesture after his goal against West Ham has caused controversy

The Football Association has charged West Brom striker Nicolas Anelka following his 'quenelle' gesture in the match against West Ham last month.

  • Share
  • Go To

Anelka's 'quenelle' gesture, which he performed after scoring at West Ham on December 28, sparked controversy, particularly in his native France, where it has been declared as anti-Semitic and racist.

Yesterday West Brom’s sponsors Zoopla announced it would end its sponsorship of the club in the wake of the controversy surrounding the gesture, with the property website announcing it will not seek to continue backing the club after this season.

The salute is widely regarded as being anti-Semetic and the FA have charged the former France international under Rule 3 for 'making an abusive and/or indecent and/or insulting and/or improper gesture.'

In a statement on their website (www.thefa.com), the FA added: "It is further alleged that this is an aggravated breach, as defined in FA Rule E3, in that it included a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief."

The French striker has until 6pm on Thursday to respond to the charges. If guilty, he will serve at least a five-match ban under new FA anti-discrimination regulations.

 

Read More

Classifieds

CarsIreland

Independent Shopping.ie

Meet, chat and connect with
singles in your area

Independent Shopping.ie

Meet Singles Now

Findajob

Apps

Now available on

Editors Choice

Also in Sport