Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Everton close in on new Baines deal

Published 15/01/2014 | 15:12

Leighton Baines is set to extend his stay at Everton
Leighton Baines is set to extend his stay at Everton

Everton hope to be able to plan for a long-term future with Leighton Baines after reports suggested significant inroads have been made over contract negotiations.

Despite manager Roberto Martinez's reluctance to talk about a new deal for the England left-back, Press Association Sport understands there has been considerable groundwork done over the last couple of months.

That appears to have paved the way for the 29-year-old, whose current contract expires in 17 months, to extend his stay.

Having fended off bids from former Toffees boss David Moyes at Manchester United in the summer, Martinez said they wanted to reward Baines' loyalty with an improved deal but the Spaniard has been wary of speaking publicly about negotiations.

Keeping Baines out of the hands of United would be a major coup for Everton and a sign of how Martinez's arrival in the summer has had a huge effect.

The club sit just one point behind fourth-placed Liverpool and have lost just twice all season as the Spaniard's change in style has reaped instant rewards.

Martinez significantly gave youngster Ross Barkley a key role in his midfield and has seen the 20-year-old blossom as a result, winning his first senior England cap and putting himself in with a good chance of securing a place in Roy Hodgson's World Cup squad.

Barkley is contracted until 2016, having signed a long-term deal in December 2011, but could also be in line for a new contract to match his rising importance to the side.

The midfielder, out with a broken toe for possibly three weeks, travelled with the rest of the squad for a warm-weather training break in Tenerife at the weekend.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport