Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Everton can bounce back - Howard

Published 28/04/2014 | 17:07

Tim Howard expects Everton to raise their game against Manchester City
Tim Howard expects Everton to raise their game against Manchester City

Everton goalkeeper Tim Howard insists Saturday's visit of Manchester City will be an easy game to play in simply because of the quality of opposition.

  • Go To

The self-inflicted 2-0 defeat at Southampton damaged the Toffees' dreams of Champions League football but a point against Manuel Pellegrini's team will at least guarantee a return to the Europa League for the first time since 2009.

They could also do neighbours Liverpool a huge favour by taking points off City, which would give the Reds renewed hope of winning the title for the first time in 24 years.

Howard said the priority was to get themselves back on track after the disappointment at St Mary's Stadium.

"Hopefully we'll brush it aside as a one-off and we'll have it all to do against Manchester City," he told the Liverpool Echo.

"It will be wide open, a tactical battle with top players on display.

"Those games take care of themselves. Those are the easy games to play in.

"Gareth Barry (on loan from City) won't be there but we can cope."

Howard is confident there will be no hangover from a second defeat in three games.

"The manager has been brilliant in that regard. He dismisses things very quickly, both brilliant performances and bad ones.

"We'll get it out of the way and have a good week of training again.

"We'll be focused from Monday to deal with what City have to throw at us."

Captain Phil Jagielka, who has not played since the end of February because of a hamstring problem, is expected to return to face City as Everton's injury list continues to grow.

Martinez had eight players unavailable through injury against Southampton and with Barry ineligible against his parent club this weekend the Spaniard has recalled forward Apostolos Vellios from Blackpool after just two appearances since joining them at the end of last month.

But Everton received some good news on Leighton Baines late on Monday, with the England defender likely to face City.

"Leighton Baines is set to be fit for this weekend's game against Manchester City," said a statement on evertonfc.com.

"The England international was assessed over the weekend, but has reacted well to the problem, meaning he should be fit for Saturday's crunch Goodison clash."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport