Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Evans heaps praise on Hernandez

Published 27/09/2013 | 08:36

Javier Hernandez was Manchester United's match-winner against Liverpool
Javier Hernandez was Manchester United's match-winner against Liverpool

Jonny Evans has hailed the goalscoring prowess of Manchester United team-mate Javier Hernandez.

  • Go To

The Mexican had made only three brief substitute appearances for new manager David Moyes prior to Wednesday night's victory over Liverpool.

But in his first start, Hernandez hunted down the winning goal, wriggling free of Jose Enrique in classic striker's fashion before touching home Wayne Rooney's corner.

It was a brilliant predatory effort.

And Evans was not in the least bit surprised.

"We see it every day in training," he said.

"You always have to be aware of him. He only takes a yard to get a goal.

"That is the type of lad he is. Against Stoke a couple of years ago he scored a goal with the back of his head.

"He loves scoring goals."

Moyes must decide how many of his fringe players will keep their places for Saturday's Old Trafford encounter with West Brom given the pride they restored following Sunday's disastrous derby day defeat at Manchester City on Sunday.

To his credit, even in the teeth of the storm that raged following Sunday's hammering, Moyes still kept doing the right things.

He fronted up to the media on Tuesday, when it would have been far easier to send someone else to speak on his behalf.

And he managed to stop a cloud of gloom descending on what is officially known as the Aon Training Complex but which fans and players continue to refer to as Carrington.

"I have been on the training ground where the atmosphere has been worse than it was when we came in the day after the game," said Evans.

"We had no complaints at the weekend.

"Everyone was honest in their assessment that we didn't apply ourselves the way we should have.

"It is hard for the fans, the players and the manager as well. We just had to move on from it quickly."

Ahead of the Baggies clash, Moyes may offer more information on the injury that ruled Tom Cleverley out of Wednesday night's game given the Scot opted not to shed any light on it immediately after the Old Trafford outfit.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport