Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


North miles away from where we need to be - O'Neill

Published 06/03/2014 | 02:30

Michael O'Neill
Michael O'Neill

Northern Ireland manager Michael O'Neill admitted his side remain "miles away" from where they want to be after a sterile 0-0 stalemate in Cyprus.

  • Go To

O'Neill's men were second best to a Cypriot side ranked 122nd in the world, but got away with a draw despite playing the final 15 minutes with 10 men following Gareth McAuley's red card.

The game was a dire spectacle which will be easily forgotten by the sparse crowd and left O'Neill with little evidence that Northern Ireland are heading in the right direction. The North had neither won nor scored in 12 away friendlies since beating Finland in 2006 coming into the match and that sorry sequence continued at a deserted GSP Stadium.

O'Neill, who has yet to win away from home more than two years since taking the job, said: "People have to realise we are trying to build an international team here and it will take time. We are miles away from being the finished article.

"We weren't good in possession and they were better on the ball.

"They put us under pressure because we continually gave the ball away cheaply and that was the most disappointing thing on the night."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport