Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA 2

Spain ESP 0

Full Time

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


So lonely round the streets of Poznan – Polish city throws a goodbye party for Irish fans

Independent.ie reporters

Published 18/06/2012 | 07:04

Photo: @tetsujin1979
Photo: @tetsujin1979
Locals in Poznan are planning a party this afternoon to say goodbye and thank you to the Irish fans

IT’S been the greatest of summer romances, and today the Polish city of Poznan is getting ready to say goodbye to the Irish supporters it fell in love with in the past week.

As 35,000 Irish fans flood back into the town for tonight’s game against Italy, the locals are planning a party this afternoon to say goodbye and thank you to the Irish fans who have made their town a base for their short time in the Euro championships.



Posters put up all over the town read: “We appreciate that you make our city alive whole day and night also, and we want to thank you, Irish guys for that.”



The party kicks off in the market square today at 3 pm where Poznan people “Want you to say goodbye to Ireland in our way!” the poster reads.



The team may be playing for pride tonight , but the majority of the estimated 35,000 Irish fans still in Poland are expected back in Poznan today for Ireland's final game against Italy tonight.



Meanwhile yesterday a Polish priest Fr Zjgmuni Waz gave a special Sunday service for the Irish at one of Poznan's many campsites.



Around 10 people attended, about half of them Irish, nderstandably, Fr Waz was a little disappointed.



"Of course, I expected more but every man is important," he said afterwards.



"I hope the football match will be good and Ireland play nice," he told the devoted few. "They always play nice" -- a debatable statement -- "but I think they need more happiness."



Later in the day cult comedy show 'Hardy Bucks' rounded up about 50 pint-carrying Irish fans in the middle of Poznan for lead roles in a big-screen production.



Filming for the movie version of the show took place in an alleyway just off the old square, Stary Rynek.



About 200 local Polish onlookers chanted and cheered as the special Euro 2012 scenes were shot.

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport