Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Dzeko may be Edin off

Published 09/05/2013 | 18:06

Edin Dzeko has scored 14 goals this season
Edin Dzeko has scored 14 goals this season

Manchester City striker Edin Dzeko has suggested he could be playing elsewhere next season.

  • Go To

The Bosnia international was non-committal about his future as he met reporters at City's pre-FA Cup final media day. Dzeko, who has scored 14 goals this season, has been the subject of speculation linking him with elsewhere as City consider a summer revamp of their squad.

When asked if he could leave at the end of the season, Dzeko said: "We will see. Everything is open."

Dzeko's present thoughts are on helping City beat Wigan in the final at Wembley on Saturday. The 27-year-old was guilty of a glaring miss in last weekend's draw at Swansea but made amends with a well-controlled winning volley against West Brom on Tuesday.

Dzeko, an unused substitute when City beat Stoke in the 2011 final, accepts he again may not start but is keen to be part of the action.

He said: "Everyone is hoping, everyone wants to play. I don't know. I don't think about that but I think that's not important. It's important to win it.

"It means a lot to the club, to the fans, to us players, to everyone."

Dzeko earned a tag of 'super sub' earlier this season after a spell of scoring goals off the bench. Six of his first seven came as a substitute. It was not a nickname the player particularly liked but he is focused only on team glory rather than personal success this week.

He said: "That's my job to score goals, if I come on after 60 minutes or if I start."

When asked if he dreamt of scoring the winner, he said: "I think it is important just to win it. I'm not sure about scoring the winner but I am dreaming of playing and winning the title."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport