Friday 24 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Devlin calls on Bray to come clean over exit

Published 15/01/2014 | 02:30

Bray Wanderers manager Pat Devlin
Bray Wanderers manager Pat Devlin

PAT DEVLIN has called on Bray Wanderers to publicly explain why he is no longer their manager and expressed "disappointment" with Alan Mathews for agreeing to take over the reins at the Carlisle Grounds.

There is nothing straightforward about Devlin's departure from Bray, where he remains the third biggest shareholder and estimates his stake at 15pc.

Differences emerged in pre-Christmas meetings about the future direction of the club but Devlin, who was also the club's director of football, indicated yesterday that he did not resign from his position.

"I don't know what I'd say," he said. "That's really for Bray to come out and say -- and they need to say that."

Bray have remained silent on the matter aside from issuing a press statement last Friday night which announced Mathews' appointment -- a release that was sent out while Devlin was attending the annual

"In my own stupid little mind, I am still manager and director of football. Which one am I not gone from? Director of football, shareholder, manager? Am I gone from the whole lot? By the sounds of things, I got the elbow from them all.

"I was appointed by the shareholders so I don't know how we got to where we are."

The 60-year-old, whose association with Bray dates back to 1985, stopped short of detailing the full reasons for a breakdown in relationships, although he suggested that a festive 'think-tank' shaped the vision of the faction that wished to move forward with Mathews at the helm.

Devlin, who believes that Bray face a tough battle without serious investment, claimed that the turbulence which followed the end of last season contributed to the departures of Jason Byrne and Kieran Marty Waters to Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers respectively.

He also dismissed any suggestion that his long-term protege Damien Duff could help provide the funds to sway the off-the-field battle in his direction.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport