Sport Soccer

Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Delph in awe of Benteke

Published 01/05/2013 | 06:11

Christian Benteke has been a revelation for Aston Villa this season
Christian Benteke has been a revelation for Aston Villa this season

Fabian Delph has branded Aston Villa team-mate Christian Benteke "a natural monster" who should have been named PFA Young Player of the Year on Sunday.

The Belgium striker has now scored 22 goals this season and 18 in the Barclays Premier League after his hat-trick against Sunderland on Monday night, eclipsing the 17 Dwight Yorke scored on two occasions.

"Christian is a natural monster," said midfielder Delph. "He doesn't do any upper body work whatsoever. He works on his core strength and his legs but that is it."

He added: "When he first came I asked him whether he ate raw meat. John Carew was very similar but Christian is 22.

"Some defenders try to rough him up but everyone who has tried it has failed."

Monday night's contribution was classic in the sense of his opener being a poacher's effort, nodding home the rebound after Simon Mignolet had failed to hold Gabriel Agbonlahor's stinging shot.

Then he climbed high to power home a far post header before beating Mignolet at his near post with a low strike after surging into the box.

"When I saw him jump for the second goal I thought 'he has wings'," said Delph.

"I wasn't sure if he had actually headed the crossbar. If he did I feel sorry for the crossbar. The number of goals he has scored doesn't surprise me.

"We have three games to go and I could put a bet on him to score at least another three or four. He has dragged us through so many games. I was quite surprised he didn't get young player of the season. Obviously he is my pal and I am a bit biased towards him. But even from the outside, you would have thought he would be up there."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport